Skip to content

 2017 Awards Winners

President’s Award Miguel Santiago, Assemblyman, California’s 53rd Assembly District, author of Assembly Bill 2290 which requires revisions to the existing World Language Content Standards for California Public Schools and a pursuant adoption of curriculum framework as well as evaluation criteria for instructional materials that are aligned to the revised California World Language Content Standards.

Hal Wingard Lifetime Achievement Award Mary Anne Lyman-Hager, Director of the Language Acquisition Resource Center (LARC) and Professor off European Studies and French, San Diego State University

Lorraine D’Ambruoso Award for Meritorious Service M. Carol Brown, teacher and professor (ret.), Spanish, CSU, Sacramento, Co-Director of Capital World Language Project

CLTA Outstanding Teachers

Thomas Beeman, Spanish, California Virtual Academies, Simi Valley

Diniz Borges: Portuguese, Tulare Union High School

Nicole Elenz-Martine, Spanish, Aragon High School, San Mateo

Karen McDowell, French, Aptos High School

CWLP Teacher Leader

Baocai Paul Jia, Chinese, Cupertino High School

 CLTA California Teacher of the Year (and Southwest Conference on Language Teaching award winner!)

Ying Jin, Chinese, Cupertino High School, Homestead High School & Fremont High School

Centro Mundo Lengua Grant + LangAbroD Nancy Pérez, Spanish El Diamante High School, Visalia

LangAbroD Grants

Suzanne Contreras, Durham High School

 Memorial Scholarship

Maylén Rafuls Rosa, French, San Ysidro High School, San Diego

 Spanish Embassy Grant

Joy Keifer, Spanish, Cupertino High School

Back to top