Skip to content
This award recognizes an individual who has rendered extraordinary service over time to the profession AND to CLTA. 
This award is named for our second Executive Director and CLTA past president, Lorraine D’Ambruoso, who not only exemplified best practices and innovative, engaging teaching for decades, but who also served in district and organizational leadership capacities, and who continues to serve CLTA and many other language and culture organizations.  Lorraine has been a tireless advocate for language teaching and learning.
The award is intended to be presented to one deserving candidate per year. The award may not be presented in a given year if there are no candidates or if the nominees do not meet the criteria, as determined by the Awards Committee.  
Affiliates and CLTA members may nominate CLTA members.  Nominees must be CLTA members in good standing for the current and previous year. 
See requirements below.


Items 1-7 need to be ready to upload when filling out the online form. Items 8 & 9 can be provided separately or incorporated into letters and/or resumé.

  1. Evidence that the nominee is a member of CLTA. Get email confirmation from (cc on all correspondence).
  2. Nominee lives in California or teaches in California (Get email verification of address from
  3. Nominated by any current CLTA member including CLTA board members (Get email verification of membership of nominator from
  4. Letter of nomination describing attributes and contributions
  5. Brief professional resumé/CV of nominee
  6. Three letters of recommendation
  7. A recent photograph of nominee (one copy suitable for display)
  8. Evidence of at least 20 years of language teaching and/or service to language education, at least five in California
  9. Evidence of at least five years of exemplary service to CLTA and its members
  10. Completed nomination form (available online)

Online Nomination form can be found here: Application/Nomination Form

Past Winners

2022   Evelyn Bejarano

2021   Sally Mearns

2020  Anne Jensen

2019   Hélène Chan

2018   Alice Bell 

2017   M. Carol Brown

2016   Sue McKee

2015   Carol Sparks

Back to top