Skip to content

This award recognizes an individual’s dedication and commitment to the language teaching profession over an extended period of time. Nominees must meet strict criteria. It is intended to be awarded only when there is a deserving candidate, even if there are applicants, and no more than once per year. The award is named for the founder and first Executive Director, a life-long embodiment of the spirit of CLTA.

Hal was the innovator and creator of the Summer Seminar, the LangAbroD travel award, and many other CLTA programs. Affiliates and CLTA members may nominate CLTA members.  Nominees must be CLTA members in good standing for the current and previous year.   


Items 1-3 need to be ready to upload when filling out the online form. Items 4 & 5 can be provided separately or incorporated in the letter of nomination or letters of recommendation.

  1. Letter of nomination describing attributes and contributions
  2. A recent photograph of nominee (one copy suitable for display)
  3. Three letters of recommendation from persons not CLTA board members (You may want to provide those who write letters of recommendation with the scoring rubric)
  4. Evidence that the nominee has made significant contributions in the areas of advocacy, assessment, curriculum and leadership in world language education
  5. Evidence that the nominee has made significant contributions at the local, state, regional and national levels
  6. Completed nomination form (may be made by a CLTA Board member except the Executive Director or Awards Chair)

Online Nomination form can be found here: Application/Nomination Form

Previous Winners

2023   Nereyda Maroot

2022   Dr. Carol Brown

2020   Paula Hirsch

2019   Baocai Paul Jia

2018 Iman Hashem

2017   Mary Anne Lyman-Hager,

2016   Brandon Zaslow

2015   Anne Jensen

2014   Dr. Yoshiko Saito-Abbott

2013   Dr. Phyllis Jacobson

2012   Tanya Zaccone

2011   Sally Mearns

2010   Dr. Marjorie Tussing

2009   Norman Masuda

2008   Helene Chan and Dr. Susie Charlton

2007   Pat Nakashima

2006   Dr. Julian Randolph

2004   Alan Svidal

2003   Duarte Silva

2002   Lewis Johnson

2001   Sylvia Jones

Back to top